Post HevyDevy fan art, covers, mashups, guitar tabs, etc here
#58157 by Bloody_Rust
Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:31 pm
Sorry if this has been posted before, but I looked and I couldn't see it.

All I really want to know is how on earth do you drop tune guitars?! For example how would I be able to tune my guitar to the tuning that Devin uses? Since I'm quite new to guitar playing, I don't really have a clue. Therefore any help would be appreciated :)

#58199 by Archetype
Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:30 pm
Here's how to tune to "Open C-tuning" (devin's tuning)
Use a tuning device, to begin with...

Tune your thickest string (E) down to C
Tune your second string (A) down to G
Tune your third string (D) down to C
Leave your fourth string alone (G) :)
Tune your fifth string (B) UP(!) to C
And leave your thinnest E string alone.

There you have Open C tuning.

If your tuning device has trouble recognising the low C sound, try tuning on the 12th harmonic of the string, which is also a C, but an octave higher.

#58204 by 7lights
Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:53 pm
exactly, as archetype said. That is open C. Drop tuning usually refers to tuning you guitar to standard E A D G B E then dopping the lowest E string down to D. A whole step below standard.

#58206 by Archetype
Wed Dec 01, 2004 2:08 pm
Yeah, that's dropped D. You also see a lot of dropped C tunings (System of a Down, Limp Bizkit, etc), which would be a whole step tuned down (D, G, C, F, A, D), and than 'drop' their low D to C. This is commonly known as dropped C.
Fun fact, Devin tuned his guitar down to AAAEAE for the Physicist record. Don't even try that if you are using strings thinner than 0.13...

#58296 by Dr.Mosh
Thu Dec 02, 2004 1:59 am
Archetype wrote:Fun fact, Devin tuned his guitar down to AAAEAE for the Physicist record. Don't even try that if you are using strings thinner than 0.13...

Not to forget AAA on City :)

#58388 by simen_88
Thu Dec 02, 2004 10:58 am