All that I've known is gone, time to be moving on...
#105642 by FUBAR
Mon Jan 16, 2006 3:56 am
Recently I had a nice lay on my bed and listen to a cd whilst reading the lyrics session. I did this with Ocean Machine yesterday. :D

When I came to 'Bastard' I realised that the lyrics are kinda different from usual Dev lyrics almost like a narrative, primarily on the 'The Girl From The Blue City' section. anyone have any song interpretations or ideas of the songs concept.

#142955 by NecroLust
Mon Mar 12, 2007 8:46 am
No. :P

#142958 by FUBAR
Mon Mar 12, 2007 10:16 am
NecroLust wrote:No. :P

lol I guess not. Almost forgot about this thread...

#142977 by Deathcom7000
Mon Mar 12, 2007 3:53 pm
Sounds like childhood memories, but I'm probably wrong.

#142991 by Ampulex Compressa
Mon Mar 12, 2007 8:04 pm
I think I can personally relate to the song myself. I'm a BU student who doesn't drink (you read correctly). Lines like "lonely in the city tonight," "gray people stare at the static sky," and "always seems to need what I'm not." I often find myself alienated from everyone else in the entire city because I don't drink, especially when my friends go to a party. I don't particularly think that Devy is talking about not drinking while everyone else does, but there's definitely a sense of loneliness.
The second part, I dunno. Sounds like something good happens. Like something or someone comes to him, eliminating said loneliness. Or maybe making it so the loneliness just doesn't matter.
Huh... in short, loneliness. The city. Nighttime. That's all I can figure out.

#143027 by TallNerdGuy
Tue Mar 13, 2007 4:41 am