All that I've known is gone, time to be moving on...
#191214 by thylacine666
Wed Apr 08, 2009 12:57 am
Sorry folks, I REALLY hope this hasn't been done to death, but I did a forum search, and Googled, and amongst all the 'top 5 songs' and 'lyrics from...' etc, I couldn't see one that particularly deals with this.

I'm pretty new to Dev - after having eventually heard (and loved) 2 SYL songs, and an Ocean machine track over the years, I finally got around to looking further. A mate (who's a big fan) sent me the entire back catalogue on DVD with videos etc (don't worry, I've bought every single album now, no bull, I'm a junkie now haha - SYL, DT, DTB, Ziltoid etc... I always buy if I like stuff, no matter how I first come to hear it)...

Anyway, Ocean Machine is so far my favourite, and I think VitF is my favourite track - I just find it almost supernatural... Beautiful, powerful, melancholic, rhythmic, melodic awesomeness.

... and loving a song like that always makes me want to know what it means.

I know some artists leave meaning up to their fans' interpretation (means something different to each person), but I'm just wondering if it's ever really been stated, by Dev obviously, or just discussed amongst fans.

To me it seems like a suicide track, a 'Goodbye', wishing everyone to not mourn, yet also raging against those calling the act weak... the mystery of the 'voices in the fan' is (also, to me) the idea of hearing voices in the sound of a fan, and in death becoming one with the voices, and one OF them... and (in my Googling) that seems to be something many hear (I'm gonna have to listen harder ha!).

Maybe that's how EVERYONE interprets the song, I dunno, just wondering what you all think, if the same or different, or if you can point me in the direction of a discussion if it HAS been done before (and again, sorry! if it has...).

#191221 by swervedriver
Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:05 am