Archived
#157091 by Deathcom7000
Wed Aug 22, 2007 6:22 pm
Hey Tracy. As a student filmmaker, I was just curious as to what Devin would think about having his music in someone's movie. If a directer approached him and asked if he could use his music, would Devin want to know the scene, or the movie, or would he not care, or what? I just wondered because Devin's music is really visual, and I thought it would fit in well with movies. Thank you

#157092 by djskrimp
Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:56 pm
I'm not Tracy, but I sure would like to comment.

That is one hell of a cool idea. Dev's music seems as though it would really fit well in a movie...it evokes so much emotion, I would imagine it would be great for setting up scenes.

#157094 by sj_2150
Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:01 pm
i used bastard for the credits of my year 12 short movie. oh! and i also used the scream at the end of things beyond things in it too :D the credits only went for 30 seconds though :(

#157121 by Tracy
Thu Aug 23, 2007 11:22 am
He would love to do movie soundtracks one day. An SYL song was in a movie last year though I can't remember which one. He wouldn't object to a song being used though would prefer some input as to the circumstances. That is not always possible as usually it's all negotiated through publising companies and not the artist. The only thing you can do is say in the publishing contract "no toilet paper ads" or whatever, otherwise it is their discretion.

#157122 by FUBAR
Thu Aug 23, 2007 11:46 am
Tracy wrote:He would love to do movie soundtracks one day. An SYL song was in a movie last year though I can't remember which one. He wouldn't object to a song being used though would prefer some input as to the circumstances. That is not always possible as usually it's all negotiated through publising companies and not the artist. The only thing you can do is say in the publishing contract "no toilet paper ads" or whatever, otherwise it is their discretion.